Thursday, April 9, 2009

Mozart Database

NMA Online

Neue Mozart-Ausgabe: Digitized Version

In 2006, the Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum (International Mozart Society) made available the musical text and the critical commentaries of the entire Neue Mozart-Ausgabe in order to make his many compositions available to a wide-range of the public.

The Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum traces its origins to 1880 Salzburg, Germany, and was founded to celebrate the life of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. The digital archive has digital copies of the scores of Mozart's many compositions, as well as more than 8,000 pages of critical commentary published since 1954.

The scores are organized by type - sacred vocal music, concertos, orchestral compositions, etc. The scores each have a table of contents, the score, as well as any text related to each specific piece.

The database's search function is also very thorough. Mozart's compositions have been arranged numerous times into a single, organized catalog. Each catalog is notated with a different appreviation (K, KV) and may be searched for under each catalog number. Searches may also be performed by piece type, key, and/or editor.

The Mozart score database may be read in German, English, or Chinese, and is free and available to the public. The Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum intended for these musical compositions widely and conveniently accessible to the public, for personal study and for educational and classroom use. As a musician myself, the database is a wonderful resource for a wide variety of uses.

No comments:

Post a Comment